Jones finds himself Out of Commission

November 3rd, 2010

User Rating:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (5 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
Loading ... Loading ...

OOC 68

Jones makes a guest appearance on the Out of Commission podcast over at Warpath TV. Listen in horror as Kaptain Carbon and Epileptic Peat try to convince Jones that “Piranha 3D” is a good movie and that Tom Cruise’s birthday isn’t worth celebrating. Jones gets his revenge by boring them to death with Star Wars trivia and reading a rejection letter to Epileptic Peat, Liam “Taken” Neeson style.

Listen: Out of Commission Episode 068
Subscribe: Subscribe Now!

Podcast Episode 19: In Mel We Trust

October 8th, 2010

User Rating:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (4 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
Loading ... Loading ...

Dale and Jones come to the defense of Mel Gibson, reflect on their childhood celebrity crushes, and discuss the possibility of 1990’s era Nicole Kidman showing up on Jones’ doorstep.

[iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
[RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
[MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

Podcast Episode 18: Where do Matrix babies come from?

May 17th, 2010

User Rating:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (5 votes, average: 3.8 out of 4)
Loading ... Loading ...

Jones, troubled by the origins of Matrix children for weeks on end, finally enlists the aid of Dale in his quest for answers. In their quest for the truth they contemplate the merits of a robotic Michael Caine, question the role of pets in the Matrix, and Dale inadvertently toys with Jones’ life through the power of laughter.

[iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
[RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
[MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

Podcast Episode 17: Chewbacca in the Windy City

May 2nd, 2010

User Rating:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.5 out of 4)
Loading ... Loading ...

Dale and Jones go on a journey into the armpit of the midwest that is known as Chicago in the hopes of meeting (or at least glimpsing) some of their childhood heroes. Along the way they see the voice of Batman, shake hands with a walking carpet, and get the autograph of Abraham Lincoln’s biographer. They also manage to squeeze in some time to reflect on their love of all things Star Wars, warts and all.

[iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
[RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
[MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

Podcast Episode 16: The Oscars and Jerry Lee Lewis’ Pianogeddon

March 2nd, 2010

User Rating:

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (3 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
Loading ... Loading ...

Just in the nick of time, we’re back with our thoughts on this year’s Oscars. Who will win, who will lose, and who we really don’t want to win (we’ll give you one guess). Other fun topics include…

  • Dale’s last name… How difficult can it really be to spell it correctly?
  • In an alternate reality what would it have been like had Jerry Lee Lewis rounded up and destroyed all the pianos in the world?
  • The Oscars… Why do we still care?
  • [iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
    [RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
    [MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

    Podcast Episode 15: Avatar and Plot Devices We Hate

    January 13th, 2010

    User Rating:

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (1 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
    Loading ... Loading ...

    New year = New podcast!

    Download now to find out what we have to say about Avatar’s success, plot devices we HATE in movies, and actors/movies that came along at the right time. We hit on a lot of other topics throughout, but these were the topics that sort of tied the thing together. Somehow we managed to not hit on any sort of best of 2009 or decade lists, but you can expect to see these show up in written form on the site soon enough.

    P.S. - I listened to it today and realized I was extra salty in this edition for some reason. We don’t edit anything, so whatever was said is what shows up for better or worse. So my apologies in advance if anyone takes offence!

    Feel free to agree or disagree in the comments below.

    [iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
    [RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
    [MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

    Podcast Episode 14: Summer Movies and the Evolution of Two Film Geeks

    June 8th, 2009

    User Rating:

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (3 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
    Loading ... Loading ...

    We’re back with the Summer edition of the podcast!

    Download now to find out what we have to say about this Summer’s movies. Which ones we have seen, plan to see, and avoid at all costs. Perhaps more interesting to our long time listeners will be our discussion of the movies that turned us into the film geeks we are today. Our selections just may shock you.

    As usual there is the randomness that you have come to expect from this podcast. Somehow we managed to also squeeze in a discussion of the current issues facing the publishing industry and our thoughts on the best car chases of all time.

    Feel free to agree or disagree in the comments below.

    [iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
    [RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
    [MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

    Podcast Episode 13: Random Thoughts on Costner, The Oscars, and the Best of 2008

    February 13th, 2009

    User Rating:

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (3 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
    Loading ... Loading ...

    After an unsuccessful attempt to record a commentary for “Commando” (even though the program said it was recording it chose not to) we decided to crank out a podcast for all of our patient listeners out there. It was inspired by a lame article on MSN that classified “Dances With Wolves” as the worst Best Picture winner ever. Citing this as complete B.S., we start there and move on to the movies we liked best from 2008. Somewhere along the way we go through the Oscar winning pictures of the past 15 years and discuss the ones we agree with as well as the ones we would change (Does anyone seriously believe that “A Beautiful Mind” was Best Picture material? I didn’t think so.). Hope you enjoy the rambling. If you’ve listened to us before, then you know what you’re in for.

    Also, I thought I’d share that we utilized the power of my new laptop to record this podcast. No editing required! What does this mean to you? Well it means that we should be able to crank these out much more frequently now, since the editing process was always an annoying hurdle to deal with in the past. The audio quality might not be as good (I wouldn’t know as I haven’t listened to it other than the first few minutes), but you’ll get more podcasts and commentaries from us this way. According to the poll that seems to be what people want and we aim to please.

    [iTunes] Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
    [RSS] Add the A Fistful of Reviews Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator and have the show delivered automatically (MP3).
    [MP3] Download the show in MP3 format.

    Forums now off of life support

    January 19th, 2009

    User Rating:

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (1 votes, average: 4 out of 4)
    Loading ... Loading ...

    Thanks to an inquiry from forum member Ecksem Diem the forums are now back online.

    Perhaps in an indication of how asleep at the wheel I’ve been lately, I didn’t even realize they were offline. Not even sure how it happened to be quite honest.

    At any rate, they are alive again and have been upgraded to the latest version of phpBB 3, so let’s put them to use!

    Thanks again to Ecksem for bringing the issue to my attention.

    - Jones

    Movie Review - The Love Guru

    November 24th, 2008

    User Rating:

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars (13 votes, average: 1.92 out of 4)
    Loading ... Loading ...

    2008 / 87 Minutes / PG-13
    Reviewed by Dale Nauertz

    One of the reasons I began writing movie reviews in the first place was so that I could warn others whenever I had the misfortune to watch something particularly awful, much like Ralph Nader used to warn people about unsafe automobiles (like the Chevy Corvair). Like Ralph I was hoping to use my cinematic watchdog skills to eventually, and ineffectually, campaign for president. Unfortunately, it seems that I have failed you, dear viewers. I don’t deserve to run even as a third party longshot for president. If I can’t warn you about the dangers of watching Mike Myers’ “The Love Guru”, how can I be expected to serve you in any other way?

    Read the rest of this entry »

    Netflix, Inc.


    "));